Tutorial – How to Connect a Picot Hem

I have recently written a couple of hat patterns that call for a hem around the brim. I am terrible at explaining myself in writting as well as face to face, so I decided to do a tutorial for connecting your hem.
I find connecting the hem while knitting saves you much more time instead of sewing up the hem at the end. It’s just quicker and easier all round, in my opinion anyway.
So, this is how to do it.

First you need to cast on your required number of stitches and knit your picot (or straight) hem.

This is now at the point where you would connect it, or in a lot of cases, carry on knitting and sew it up later.

Fold your hem so the two wrong sides face each other.


Now, you need to pick up the first stitch on your cast on edge,

and knit it together with the first stitch on your left needle;

Then pick up the next stitch in your cast on edge, and knit together with the next stitch on your left needle.

You carry on this way until you have knit all the way across, or around (this works for flat knitting and working in the round).
When you are finished, you will have a lovely hem all ready to go with no more messing about at the end.

I hope this helps those of you attempting to do this. It is much easier than you think and makes your knitting so neat and tidy.
Give it a go!

What do you think?