Chicken Pot Pie

Terry hates pie.

My mum made him this pie a few months back. He was dreading eating it cos he really hates pie. When he was finished he wanted more. This pie is not like any pie you’ve had before. It is amazing! I made it last night and even though I was fit to burst when I had finished, I wanted more pie!

It can be done as a pot pie with just the lid (like I did last night cos I didn’t have enough pastry) or you can make a full on pie with base and all if you want. Amazing. A-MAZE-ING.

The original recipe calls for 100ml of white wine but that didn’t look like enough booze for me so I put in 200ml. It also said to add double cream but I had some crème fraîche left over from my Pan-Fried Pork and it worked just the same, with slightly lower fat-ness about it…but hey, this is a pie so forget the diet.

Chicken Pot Pie Adapted slightly from Stacie Stewarts Chicken Pie

Ingredients

For the filling

1 tbls oil
2 small leeks cleaned and sliced
A handful of mushrooms, sliced
600g meat picked from a leftover roasted chicken
1 garlic clove
100ml 200ml white wine
50ml chicken stock
150ml double cream   crème fraîche
1 tsp of fresh tarragon
1 egg, for egg washing

For the pastry

300g flour
150g cold cubed butter
A pinch of salt
1 egg to bind and maybe some cold water too
Or 1 pack of ready made shortcrust pastry, thawed if frozen

Directions

Make the pastry by rubbing the butter into the flour until breadcrumbs form, then binding the mixture with the egg and water if needed. Wrap the pastry in cling film and chill in the fridge until needed, but for at least 30 minutes.

I bought some in because I didn’t have time to make my own. I now regret buying it in since I sent Terry to get it and it was only enough for a lid, hence mine being a pot pie.

Preheat the oven to 220C/ gas mark 7.

Heat the oil in a large frying pan over a medium heat. Add the leeks and garlic and cook gently for 5-10 minutes until softened.

Turn the heat up and add the mushrooms. Fry for a few minutes, stirring constantly so the leeks don’t burn.

Add the cooked chicken and stir to combine.

Add the wine and bubble away on a high heat until reduced slightly.

Pour in the stock if you prefer a wetter pie and reduce slightly.

Add the cream / crème fraîche and tarragon, bring to the boil, then simmer for 5 minutes until thickened. Season with salt and pepper then set aside to cool. The mix should be wet but not too sloppy.

Remove the pastry from the fridge around 10 minutes before you want to use it.

If you are making a full pie: Cut it into 2 pieces, one slightly bigger than the other. Roll out the larger piece of pastry to the size of your pie dish. Grease the edges of the pie dish with butter, and line the baking tin with the pastry so it hangs over the edges.

For full pie and pot pie:

Fill the pastry case / pot with the pie filling.

Now roll the second piece of the pastry out and fit this over the top of the pie (wet the edges of the pastry case before putting the lid on as this will help it to stick.) Knock and crimp the edges of the pie together, this basically means sticking the top of the pastry to the bottom of the pastry, if you are making a full pie, or pushing it down onto your pot, if its a pot pie you’re after.
Beat the egg with a little salt, then brush over the pastry lightly which will make it all golden.

Bake for 30-40 minutes (full pie) or
15 – 20 minutes (pot pie) until the pastry is golden. Remember everything is cooked inside so you are just cooking the pastry.

Serve with:

We had new potatoes and carrots. The original recipe says mash and greens. It’s totally up to you.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Your recipes make me seriously hungry, and I have a particular weakness for chicken pot pie . I’ve been so uninspired to cook lately, but after reading this… I think my dry spell’s at an end!

    Like

    1. This is so nice it’s unreal. I’m dead serious when I say Terry hates pie. He can’t stand it but when he eats this I have to put a lock on the fridge so he doesn’t steal it all and leave me none! This pie starts a war in my house!!
      You must tell me if you make it 😀

      Like

What do you think?

