Mediterranean Beef Casserole

So I decided you lot needed more beef.

I was shopping the other day and was hovering in the herb aisle…as you do…and saw a recipe right in the herb rack. So I snatched it and ran. Well, not really. I took one – cos it was free – and finished my shopping, but I’m still in Ninja mode after that mask.

This recipe has nothing in it. Not really. It’s super cheap and so delicious it will make you sing “If you’re happy and you know it shout for beef”, “More Beef!”

I’m tired. Leave me alone.

Eww! Raw beef!

This is an adaptation of the recipe from the supermarket since it includes Olives and I can’t stand Olives. They all need to be removed from the earth. Dirty little grease balls. So we have peppers instead. So there.

Mediterranean Beef & Olive Casserole

Ingredients

450g lean stewing steak (mine wasn’t so lean but I don’t care.)

2 tbls Flour

450 ml Beef Stock

2 tsp Smoked Paprika

2 tsp Herbes de Provence

½ tsp Garlic Granules

1 tbls Tomato Purèe

200g tinned chopped tomatoes

2 Green peppers (or a handful of pitted olives if you are sick)

1 tbls oil

Directions:

Fry the stewing steak in a little oil until browned. Add the flour and cook out for 1 minute.

Stir in the beef stock, smoked paprika, herbes de provence, garlic granules, tomato purèe, tomatoes and peppers / olives.

Bring to a simmer then transfer to a casserole dish and cook in the oven at 180°C for 2 hours until meat is tender.

Serve With:

A huge dollop of mashed potato. This stuff is superb. Trust me. I’m a knitter.

 

2 thoughts on “Mediterranean Beef Casserole

What do you think?

