Creamy Pan Fried Pork with Apple and Sage

I get so bored eating the same things every day so when I saw a spice mix pack in my local supermarket I decided to give it a try.

This is a pack from Schwartz that give you all the herbs and spices you need for the recipe they print on the back. It looks like this:

It turns out to be a very creamy, sweet pork dish that is really nice and well worth a second go. I will be making it again but I would use a little less sage since it overpowered the other herbs and I’m not a massive sage fan. I mean, I don’t mind it, but I’m not at the front screaming “SAGE!!!” at it’s latest book signing or whatever. I’m at the back picking at my finger nails.

So let me tell you how to cook this marvel. I’m not stealing from Schartz here by the way, since they do this to get you to buy their herbs and I’m telling you it’s their recipe (which is on their website here) so…not thieving see.

I have changed it up slightly. I cut my pork into thin slices since I was serving it to a 3 year old and a slab of meat would send him running for the hills. I also sliced my apple instead of doing it in wedges and used apple juice instead of cider. For the same reasons above and I don’t condone getting a 3 year old drunk at the dinner table.

Creamy Pan-Fried Pork with Apple and Sage

Ingriedients

4 pork loin steaks (cut into strips)

1 red onion, thickly sliced

100g (4oz) mushrooms, sliced

1 eating apple, cored and cut into wedges (slices)

150ml (¼ pint) apple cider or juice

200ml (7fl oz) crème fraîche

2 tbs plain flour

1 tsp Paprika

1 tsp Garlic Granules

1 tsp Sage

1 tsp Thyme

1 tsp Oregano

½ tsp Rosemary

½ tsp salt

½ tsp black pepper

1 tbs oil

Salt and Black Pepper to season

Directions

1. Combine the flour with the Paprika, salt and pepper in a bowl. Add the pork and coat in the seasoned flour.

2. Heat the oil in a large frying pan, add the pork and brown well for 2-3 minutes on each all sides. Remove from the pan and set aside.

3. Add the red onion, mushrooms and apples to the pan.  Fry for 3-4 minutes, until browned.  Add the cider or juice, Garlic Granules, Sage, Rosemary, Thyme, Oregano and crème fraîche and stir gently.

4. Return the pork to the pan, bring to a simmer and cook for around 10 minutes until the pork is cooked through.

Serve with:

Potatoes and broccoli. I actually roasted my potatoes believe it or not. They turned out a bit anaemic. I am rubbish at timing my recipes…seriously.

If you are looking for something rich and creamy with a sweet edge. This is it my friend. THIS is it.

6 thoughts on “Creamy Pan Fried Pork with Apple and Sage

What do you think?

