So That Cheesecake Then…

I’m actually gutted about the aforementioned cheesecake. (Twas mentioned here) It was completely gorgeous and I was thinking about the blog the whole time while making it…then forgot the pictures. What a twerp!

I did get this one…to start you off:

How helpful of me…

Then I rooted through the birthday pictures and found a picture of the buffet table with a sneaky glimpse in the corner:

Yeah I know. At least it’s proof I made it though!

So I have decided, sod it! I’m putting the recipe here anyway cos it is SO nice I would be rude to keep it to myself.

I adapted the recipe from here and here by basically mixing them both together.

Non-Bake Orange Cheesecake

Ingredients

  • 250g digestive biscuits
  • 100g butter
  • 600g soft cheese
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 284ml pot double cream
  • Grated zest of 3 oranges
Prepare

Base:
Put the biscuits in a plastic food bag and crush to crumbs using a rolling pin. (I actually used the back of a spoon since I don’t have a rolling pin … I know!) Transfer the crumbs to a bowl and set aside.
Melt the butter in a pan and then pour over the biscuits. Mix thoroughly until the crumbs are completely coated. Tip them into your loose bottomed tin that I told you to grease up earlier…*cough*… and press firmly down into the base to create an even layer. Chill in the fridge for 1 hr to set firmly.

Filling:
Put the soft cheese and icing sugar in a bowl and beat with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the orange zest and slowly tip the cream in, beating until the mixture is completely combined. Now, provided your hour waiting for the base is up, spoon the creamy mixture onto the biscuit base. Slap it on work from the edges inwards making sure that there are no air bubbles. Smooth the top of the cheesecake down with the back of a dessert spoon or spatula. Leave to set in the fridge overnight, continuously staring at it, willing the night to be through.

Take it out of the fridge 30 minutes before serving to bring it to room temperature. Decorate with the segments of orange left over from the zesting.

I swear people at the party did not believe I had made it. Even my own mum asked me to prove it by reciting the recipe to her. My. Own. Mum.

6 thoughts on “So That Cheesecake Then…

  1. OK, I love anything orange but being from the US I need a little explanation of a couple of the ingredients.

    I am assuming the biscuits are like graham crackers or maybe vanilla wafer cookies or such.
    Soft cheese- cream cheese?
    Double cream-heavy cream?

    The amounts are a little questionable but I think I can find a chart to figure them out.
    It sounds wonderful and can’t wait to make it.

    Like

    1. Hi Wanda,
      Well, soft cheese is cream cheese and double cream is heavy cream, yes, but I’m not entirely sure what the alternative to a digestive biscuit is in the US.
      In the UK, if anyone makes a biscuit base for a non-bake cheesecake, we use Digestives. They are just a plain sweet biscuit. I suppose, if you have made non-bake cheesecakes before (or search a US cheesecake recipe), whatever they use as the biscuit base would be fine.

      I don’t know where there is one but you should be able to find a converter for the weights since I’ve definitely done that the other way around 🙂

      I hope this helps. If you make it, let me know how it turns out 🙂

      Kelly

      Like

What do you think?

